National Science Day Celebrations (NSD2020) on February 28, 2020
The theme of NSD 2020 is "Women in science"

NSD 2020 - Press clip

NSD 2020 - EBOOK

National Science Day was celebrated on 28th February 2020, at 10.30 am at Adi Sankara Auditorium, University premises. Prof. Dr. K. Venkatramanan, Convener- NSD 2020 & Head of the department welcomed the gathering. Dr.K.Rajalakshmi, Coordinator NSD-2020 & Assistant Professor of Physics read the National Science Day Report. Prof.Dr.S.Balaji, Dean, Faculty of Science, SCSVMV, delivered Presidential address. He insisted that women should make more contribution towards science in addition to their huge responsibilities in their work place and at home. Then Ms.Lavanya of I year B.Sc Physics gave a talk on the contribution of women in the field of Science. Ms.P.Srimathy of III B.Sc Computer Science and Mr.S.B.S.Sairam of I Year ECE made presentations on the theme of the celebration. Around 50 articles were received for the science magazine “VIJNANA VEEKSHA” from the staff and students of various departments. The magazine was released by Prof.Dr.S.Balaji, Dean (Science) and Prof.C.V.Venkatakrishnan, Professor of Physics received the first copy.

As part of National Science Day celebrations [NSD 2020], the department organized various competitions like Power Point Presentation, Poster Presentation, Connections, Treasure Hunt, Missing Letters, Essay Writing on the theme "Women in Science" to encourage and to popularize Science and Technology. These events were conducted during second and third week of February 2020 by the respective department coordinators. Around 300 students participated in all the events with great enthusiasm. The winners and runners of various events were awarded prizes during the function. Mrs.J.Suganthi, Coordinator-NSD-2020 & Assistant Professor of Physics proposed vote of thanks. The program concluded with National Anthem.




1 S. Sharmila M.Phil(Phy)
2 T. Ramya II – MSc (Phy)
3 B. Vijayalakshmi II – MSc (Phy)
4 M. Vignesh III – BSc (Phy)
5 R. Kishore III – BSc (Phy)
6 P. Rajeesh III – BSc (Phy)