Inauguration of PHYSICS SOCIETY

The inauguration of PHYSICS SOCIETY and prize distribution for the winners of IMPULSE-2016 was held on 15-11-2016 at 2.15 pm at Physics Laboratory.

Ms.S.Vasanthy and Ms.C.Padmavathy of I B.Sc. rendered prayer song. Welcome address was given by the President of the Physics Society Mr.Shantanu Patra of II M.Sc (Physics). Faculty advisor to the Physics Society, Prof.C.V.Venkatakrishnan explained the need for the development of a new Physics Society “for the students by the students”. He also introduced the office bearers of the Physics Society for the academic year 2016-2017. Prof.Dr. K.Venkatramanan, Head of the department addressed the gathering and congratulated the office bearers of the society. The Secretary of the Physics Society Mr.B.Prasanna of I M.Sc (Physics) announced the forthcoming activities of the society. A seminar on the topic “Physics of Everyday Life” were presented by Ms.M.Pavithra of I B.Sc and Mr.P.Boopathy Rajan of II B.Sc (Physics). Various events were conducted by the Society on 21.10.2016 on the name “IMPULSE 2016” and prizes were given to the winners during the function. Mr.B.Prasanna proposed vote of thanks.

The selected office bearers of the Physics Society for the academic year 2016-2017 are as follows:

President : Mr. Shantanu Patra, II M.Sc.,
Secretary : Mr.B.Prasanna, I M.Sc .,
Members : K.Priyadharshini, III B.Sc.,
M.Mohan, III B.Sc.,
T.Ramya, II B.Sc.,
S.Gowtham, II B.Sc.,
S.Hariharan, I B.Sc.,
N.Ramya Rai, I B.Sc.,

Faculty Advisor : Prof.C.V.Venkatakrishnan, Professor of Physics