SECOND ALUMNI MEET

(03.10.2010)

The Second alumni meet of the School of Education was conducted with in the Multi-purpose hall of SOE on 03.10.2010. Students from the past three batch participated in the meeting. The meeting began at 10:00 am with a prayer song led by Mrs. C Subashini & MS. Mohanambal of 2009-10 batch. Prof. Dr. A Jayalakshmi, Registrar of SCSVMV University inaugurated the function by lighting the lamp along with the guest of honor Dr. Venkatesan, Principal of Kanchi Shri Krishna College of Arts and Science, Kilambi.

The Head of the School of Education presented the welcome address with the annual report of activities of 2009-10. The report was exhaustive covering all the activities that have happened in the department. Following which the Head, SOE, facilitated guests. Mr. Sivasubramanian U, Asst. Prof. in Methods of Teaching Tamil introduced the alumni members to the gathering.

This was followed by experiences by the students Miss. Saraswathi K, Mr. Vijayakumar C and Mrs. Subashini C, shared their experiences they had cherished during their stay in the School of Education. As a response to the experience by the students Mr. R Sarvanan, Asst. Prof. in Methods of teaching History shared his feelings and thoughts about students and his experience as teacher over the years.

A prolific speaker and able administrator who have rich experience in higher education is Prof. Dr. Venkatesan, Principal of Kanchi Shri Krishna College. He gave valuable insights about teacher and their role with wonderful illustrations is one of the highlights of the day. The chief guest for the day was Prof. Dr. A Jayalakshmi, who highlighted the importance of teacher and the noble qualities a teacher, should possess to become an effective teacher. It is the culture of school of education to honor its guests and department honored its guest with the SUPW materials prepared by our own students in the department.

An important aspect of alumni association is selection of Alumni core members. The selection was on unanimous choice of the students and staff members alike. The following are the selected members.

- 1. Prof. Dr. KVSN Murty (President)
- 2. Mrs. Anitha (Secretary)
- 3. Mr. C Prakash (Finance Officer)
- 4. Mr. Vijayakumar (Member)
- 5. Mr Krishnan (Member)
- 6. Miss. Kalyani (Member)

The gathering accepted the decision. Master of ceremony was Mrs. B Anitha (student), and the Vote of thanks proposed by Miss. Arulmozhi M (student) the session came to an end. This was followed by High tea. The next part of the program was culturals, which began by 2:00 pm after lunch and students performed various events to the delight of all the others exhibiting their talents and skills. Tea and snacks were provided in the evening and the program came to an end by 4:30 pm.



